Ends on January 31, 2019

About the prize

The Power Institute Foundation for Art and Visual Culture exists to bring contemporary ideas in the visual arts to Australia, and provide a space for the creation, discussion and dissemination of ideas about art in Australia and worldwide. Since the 1980s, the Power Institute’s publications arm, Power Publications, has published books in the area of art history, visual culture and film studies by Australian and international scholars, as well as translations of critical theory. Our publications aim to reach beyond the academic community, demonstrating the importance of art and visual culture in Australia and providing a continuing forum for new ideas. 

Through the Power Publications Dissertation Prize for Indigenous Art Research, we wish promote quality scholarship and support new writing on Indigenous art, widely understood

The Dissertation Prize, together with the the Power Publications Prize for Indigenous Art Writing, both seek to foster critical understandings of Australian Indigenous art and culture. The prizes will be awarded annually for three years, and are generously supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund. The 2019 round is the third and final year of the award.

  • The recipient of the award will receive $2,000
  • This year's award will be judged by Associate Professor Donna Leslie, Convenor, Australian Art, Griffith University


Power Publications will award a dissertation prize for the best PhD, MPhil or Master by Research written on Indigenous art. 

Unlike the Power Publications Indigenous Art Writing Prize, the Dissertation Prize is not restricted to authors of Indigenous heritage.

Candidates must present readers' reports with their applicaton and speak to the significance of the contribution to current research in the area of Australian Indigenous Art. Supervisors can also nominate and apply on behalf of candidates.

The prize is open to citizens and permanent residents of Australia.

Application requirements

The 2019 round of the award is currently open.

Candidates for the 2019 award must have completed and defended their dissertation in the calendar year 2018.

Applicants or those nominating them must fill out the application form. Two readers reports from the thesis must also be provided. 

The winner will be announced in 2019.